Skip to content

Research

The Food and Health Bureau (FHB) has long supported local health and medical research, as well as health promotion projects.  Through the generation of scientific knowledge derived from local and global research, as well as translating these knowledge into clinical practice, the Health and Medical Research Fund (HMRF) administered by the FHB is able to provide more and better evidence to support cancer prevention, diagnosis, treatment and survivorship, as well as formulation of evidence-based health policy, to reduce cancer incidence, morbidity, mortality, and to improve the quality of life of patients.  Studies on cancer-related areas will be given priority for funding under the HMRF.

Health and Medical Research Fund

The Health and Medical Research Fund (HMRF) was established by the FHB in 2011 by consolidating the former Health and Health Services Research Fund and the former Research Fund for the Control of Infectious Diseases, with a broadened scope for funding health and medical research in Hong Kong.  In 2017, the HMRF further expanded its scope by incorporating the former Health Care and Promotion Fund in order to create synergy and provide more flexibility in supporting both health and medical research and health promotion efforts.

The HMRF aims to build research capacity and to encourage, facilitate and support health and medical research to inform health policies, improve population health, strengthen the health system, enhance healthcare practices, advance standard and quality of care, and promote clinical excellence, through generation and application of evidence-based scientific knowledge derived from local research in health and medicine.  It also provides funding support to evidence-based health promotion projects that help people adopt healthier lifestyles by enhancing awareness, changing adverse health behaviours or creating a conducive environment that supports good health practices. 

The HMRF provides funding support for the following types of projects:

a. Investigator-initiated Projects (funding ceiling: $1.5 million per project; project period: 3 years) – to support research studies and health promotion projects from individual applicants in response to "HMRF open call" invitations for grant applications guided by reference to the thematic priorities.

b. Government-commissioned Programmes – to support specific programmes commissioned to, inter alia, build research capacity, fill knowledge gaps, support policy formulation, address specific issues, assess needs and threats, etc. Funding may cover research projects, facilities, infrastructure and other capacity building initiatives as appropriate.

c. Research Fellowship Scheme (funding ceiling: $1.2 million per award; award period: 2 years) – to enhance research capability and build research capacity to facilitate the translation of knowledge into formulation of health policy and clinical practice. Research fellowships will be awarded to eligible candidates covering a range of research areas and specialties on the advice of the Research Council.

Please visit the Research Fund Secretariat’s website (https://rfs.fhb.gov.hk/) for the details of open calls for Investigator-initiated Projects and Research Fellowship Scheme, and the abstracts of the approved projects.

Expert Advisory Panels

Five Expert Advisory Panels (EAPs) on Cancer, Primary Healthcare and Non-Communicable Disease, Infectious Diseases, Mental Health and Implementation Science respectively, had been set up by the Research Council to make recommendations to advance science and to shape the research agenda of the HMRF.  Members comprise local experts in the forefront of cancer research and healthcare.  The thematic priorities relating to cancer for the 2019 HMRF Open Call for Investigator-initiated projects include:

  1. Health and health services research on major non-communicable diseases including cancer, diabetes mellitus, chronic diseases of cardiovascular system, chronic respiratory diseases, cerebrovascular diseases, and chronic, musculoskeletal disorders and their associated risk factors including unhealthy diet, physical inactivity, tobacco use, harmful use of alcohol, and psychosocial problems;
  2. Epidemiology studies on cancer risk factors that can help formulate strategies for primary prevention;
  3. Use of appropriate screening strategies for early identification and treatment of cancer;
  4. Development of novel diagnostic tools, new treatment modalities including advanced surgical techniques, systemic therapy and radiotherapy to reduce mortality and morbidity;
  5. Development and evaluation of cancer survivorship care delivery to address long-term and late effects of cancer;
  6. Applied research in genetics and genomics for personalised medicine, in particular target therapies for different tumours; and
  7. Application of big data analytics to examine clinical information for better management of cancer patients

Cancer Research Supported by Health and Medical Research Fund

Please visit the Research Fund Secretariat’s website (https://rfs.fhb.gov.hk/) for the details of the approved projects.

  1. Investigator-initiated Projects

    1. In the application rounds for investigator-initiated research studies from 2012 to 2017, the Health and Medical Research Fund (HMRF) has supported 237 cancer-related studies accounting for 21.0% of all funded projects.  These researches focused on liver cancer (27.4%), nasopharyngeal carcinoma (12.2%), breast cancer (9.3%), colorectal cancer (9.2%), lung cancer (7.6%), leukemia (5.9%) and ovarian cancer (4.2%).  A large proportion of the studies (41.4%) investigated the prevalence, risk factors, and mechanisms for causing cancer. 
    2. Many of these studies were molecular or genetic studies, with a view to identifying potential targets for diagnostics and development of new cancer drugs.  About one third (30.8%) of the studies addressed new treatment modalities or evaluation of existing treatment options.  About one fifth (21.9%) of the projects studied cutting-edge science in diagnosis and prognosis including various biomarkers in predicting tumour progression and treatment outcome.  Studies on prevention strategies accounted for 1.3% among all funded cancer projects.
    3. The HMRF seeks to support about 300 investigator-initiated research and health promotion projects (around $360 million) in the next six years for better prevention and control of cancer.
  2. Government-commissioned Programmes

    The following commissioned programmes related to cancer have been supported by the HMRF:

    1. Colorectal Cancer

      The HMRF has commissioned The Chinese University of Hong Kong and The University of Hong Kong in December 2015 each to conduct a four-to a five-year study to evaluate the overall performance of the Colorectal Cancer Screening Pilot Programme, including its effectiveness and cost-effectiveness, satisfaction of users and service providers, change in public understanding, perception, acceptance and equitable use of the screening. The total funding for these two programmes is $22 million.

    2. Breast Cancer

      The HMRF has commissioned The University of Hong Kong to conduct a five-year study on the risk of breast cancer in Hong Kong in 2015.  The study aims to formulate a risk prediction model for breast cancer in Hong Kong using a case‐control study approach under which a comparison is made between women with and without breast cancer. It also aims to find out the relationship between risk factors (such as age, body mass index and other personal characteristics, physical activity, family history of breast cancer, and history of benign breast disease) and breast cancer development. The total funding for this programme is $19 million.

    3. Tobacco Control Policies

      To tackle tobacco‐related harms, a major risk factor for cancer, a three‐year study has been commissioned to The University of Hong Kong in 2019 to evaluate the impact of tobacco control policies in Hong Kong. The study aims to establish a systematic survey to determine the effectiveness of existing tobacco control measures and to recommend new measures in line with the research findings. The total funding for this programme is $9 million.

    4. Population-based Cohort Study

      In 2019, the HMRF has commissioned The Chinese University of Hong Kong to conduct a five-year population‐based cohort study to examine the chemo‐protective effects of aspirin against multiple cancers.  The study will assess whether the long‐term use of aspirin is associated with the risk reduction on cancer incidence and mortality, and to evaluate the benefits of aspirin outweigh its potential risks of bleeding events by examining clinical records of a cohort of more than 600,000 patients. The total funding for this programme is $9.85 million.

    5. Phase I Clinical Trials Centres

      The HMRF has provided funding to support the infrastructure of the two Phase I Clinical Trials Centres (“CTCs”) for five years with a total funding of $80 million to conduct early phase clinical trials. Since 2014, the two Centres have commenced trials on safety, pharmacology and efficacy of various treatment for a range of cancers including liver, lung, breast, colorectum, kidney and other solid tumours. Additional funding of $100 million has been provided starting from 2019 to the two Phase I CTCs, for development of novel pharmaceutical products including those treating different cancers.

  3. Research Fellowship Scheme

    1. The Research Fellowship Scheme under the HMRF would support researchers or healthcare professionals in their early to mid‐career, to enhance their skills in public health or health services research. Funding support will be provided for successful applicants to attend local or overseas training programmes which can help equip them with knowledge and skills to become independent researchers.
    2. Since 2016, four projects (around $3.68 moiilion) related to cancer have been supported. The HMRF will support about 30 awardees (around $30 million) in the coming six years to address the risk factors of cancer.

跳至主要內容

研究

食物及衞生局(下稱「食衞局」)致力資助本地醫療衞生研究及促進健康計劃。其管核下的醫療衞生基金 (下稱「基金」)可透過本地和世界研究所取得的科學知識,及把這些知識轉化為臨牀實踐,提供更多和更好的實證,以支持癌症預防、診斷、治療和存活,及制定以實證為本的衞生政策,以降低癌症發病率及死亡率,減輕病情,並改善病人的生活質素。基金將會優先資助與癌症相關的研究。

醫療衞生研究基金

食衞局於2011年把前衞生及醫護服務研究基金和前控制傳染病研究基金合併為醫療衞生研究基金(下稱「基金」),藉以提高衞生方面科研的資助成效,並擴大資助範圍。在2017年,基金進一步擴大其覆蓋範圍,把前健康護理及促進基金納入其中,從而發揮協同作用和達致最佳效益,以及提高撥款調配的靈活性。

基金旨在建立科研能力,鼓勵、促進和支援醫療衞生研究,透過取得並應用從本地醫療衞生研究所得以實證為本的科學知識,協助制訂醫療政策、改善市民的健康、強化醫療系統、改進醫療實務、提升醫療護理水平及質素,以及推動在臨床醫療服務方面取得卓越成就。基金也為以實證為本的促進健康項目提供撥款資助,透過提高公眾的健康意識,改變不良健康的行為及締造健康的生活環境,鼓勵市民選擇和維持健康的生活方式。

基金為下列各類項目提供撥款資助:

a. 研究員擬定項目(撥款上限:每個項目150萬港元;年期3年) — 資助個別申請人因應基金的公開邀請,按研究範疇及優先課題所提交的研究項目。

b. 政府委託的項目 — 資助委託進行的特定計劃,以建立科研能力、填補科研知識不足之處、協助制訂政策、應對特定事件,以及評估需要和威脅。資助範圍可涵蓋研究項目、設備、基礎設施及其他建立科研能力的措施。

c. 研究獎學金計劃(撥款上限:每個獎學金120萬港元;年期2年) — 旨在提高科研能力和建立有助把知識應用於制訂醫療政策及臨床實務的科研能力。因應研究局的意見,合資格的申請人會獲頒授研究獎學金,獎學金涵蓋一系列研究範疇及專科。

有關研究員擬定項目及研究獎學金計劃的申請詳情及撥款項目資料,請瀏覽研究基金秘書處網頁

專家顧問小組

研究局通過成立五個專家顧問小組為其顧問部門,包括癌症專家顧問小組、基層醫療及非傳染病專家顧問小組、傳染病專家顧問小組、精神健康專家顧問小組及執行科學專家顧問小組,為基金就促進科研及制定研究議程提供建議。成員包括在癌症研究和醫療保健領域最前沿的本地專家。2019年度公開申請的研究員擬定項目有關癌症的優次課題包括:

  1. 就主要的非傳染病(包括癌症、糖尿病、慢性心血管系統疾病、慢性呼吸系統疾病、腦血管病和慢性肌骨骼疾病)及其相關風險因素(包括不良飲食習慣、缺乏運動、吸煙、酗酒及心理社交問題)進行的衞生及醫療服務研究;
  2. 針對有助制定基層預防策略的癌症風險因素的流行病學研究;
  3. 採用合適的篩查策略以及早確診及治療癌症個案;
  4. 研發嶄新的診斷工具和療法,包括先進手術技巧、系統性治療和放射治療,以減低死亡及發病率;
  5. 制定和評估為癌症康復者提供的服務方案,以助病患者應對癌症帶來的長期及晚期影響;
  6. 把遺傳學及基因組學的應用研究運用在個人醫療方面,尤其是針對不同腫瘤的標靶治療;及
  7. 運用大數據分析來研究臨床資料,從而為癌症患者提供更佳的治理。

醫療衞生研究基金資助的癌症項目

有關撥款項目資料,請瀏覽研究基金秘書處網頁

  1. 研究員擬定項目

    1. 2012至2017年研究員擬定項目的申請中,醫療衞生研究基金(下稱「基金」)共資助237個有關癌症的研究,佔整體資助項目21.0%。當中最常見的研究項目為針對肝癌(27.4%),鼻咽癌(12.2%),乳癌(9.3%),大腸癌(9.2%),肺癌(7.6%),白血病(5.9%)和卵巢癌(4.2%)。大部分項目(41.4%)研究癌症的普遍性、風險因素和致病機制。
    2. 其中許多是分子或遺傳學的研究,旨在發掘新的診斷方法和研發新型抗癌藥物。約三分之一(30.8%)的研究涉及新型治療方式或評估現有治療方案。約五分之一(21.9%)的項目研究尖端的診斷和預測進展的科學知識,包括各種用於預測腫瘤進展和治療結果的生物標記。在所有資助的癌症項目中,有關預防策略的研究佔1.3%。
    3. 基金於未來6年將支持約300個(共約3.6億港元)與癌症相關的研究員擬定項目及促進健康項目,以更有效地預防和控制癌症。
  2. 政府委託的項目

    基金資助與癌症相關的委託研究項目包括:

    1. 大腸癌

      基金委託了香港中文大學及香港大學於2015年各進行一項為期4-5年的研究以評估大腸癌篩查先導計劃的整體表現,包括其有效性和成本效益、用戶和服務提供者的滿意度、公眾認知的改變、觀感、接受程度和使用篩查的公平性。這兩項研究的總資助額為2,200萬港元。

    2. 乳癌

      基金委託了香港大學於2015年進行一項為期5年關於本地婦女乳癌的相關風險的研究。這項研究的目標是利用病例對照研究方法(對比有乳癌和無乳癌的婦女)制定香港的乳癌風險預測模型。它還旨在找出風險因素(如年齡、體重指標、其他個人特徵、體能活動、乳癌家族史和良性乳腺疾病歷史等)與乳癌發展的關係。這項研究的資助額為1,900萬港元。

    3. 控煙政策

      為了解決癌症的主要風險因素 - 與煙草相關的危害,基金已於2019年委託了香港大學進行一項為期3年的研究以評估煙草控制政策對香港的影響。該研究旨在建立一項有系統的調查,以判斷現有煙草控制措施的成效,並根據研究結果建議新措施。這項研究的資助額為900萬港元。

    4. 人口追蹤研究

      基金於2019年委託了香港中文大學進行一項為期5年的人口追蹤研究,以研究阿士匹靈對多種癌症的化學保護作用。這項研究將評估長期使用阿士匹靈是否與降低癌症發病率和死亡率相關,並透過檢視超過600,000名病人的臨牀記錄,評估阿士匹靈的效益比其潛在出血情況的風險更為重要。這項研究的資助額為985萬港元。

    5. 第一期臨床試驗中心

      基金亦資助了兩所第一期臨牀試驗中心(下稱「中心」)的基礎設施,用於進行早期臨牀試驗,而5年的總資助額為8,000萬港元。自2014年以來,這兩所中心已開始對各種癌症不同治療方法的安全性、藥理和療效進行試驗,包括肝癌、肺癌、乳癌、結腸癌、腎癌和其他實質固態瘤。兩所中心於2019年獲基金額外資助1 億元,以研發包括治療不同癌症的新型藥物。

  3. 研究奬學金計劃

    1. 基金轄下的研究獎學金計劃將培訓於事業初期至中期的研究人員或醫護專業人員,以提高他們在公共衞生或衞生服務方面的科研能力。基金將資助成功的申請人參加本地或海外的培訓計劃,以幫助他們掌握成為獨立研究人員應具備的知識和技能。
    2. 由2016年起,合共4個與癌症相關的項目(共約368萬港元)獲得資助。基金於未來6年將支持約30名研究獎學金計劃得獎者(共約3,000萬港元),以應對癌症風險因素。