Skip to content

Overview of Cancer Statistics in Hong Kong

  1. Cancer is one of the major non-communicable diseases ("NCD") in Hong Kong. The cancer incidence has been on a rising trend, increasing at an average rate of about 2.6% per annum in the past decade. A total of 34 179 new cancer cases were diagnosed in Hong Kong in 2020, falling by 903 cases or a drop of 2.6% compared with 2019. On average, 94 people were diagnosed with cancer each day.
  2. A total of 16 703 cancers were newly diagnosed in males and 17 476 in females in 2020. The numbers have decreased by 982 (or 5.6%) for males and increased by 79 (or 0.5%) for females compared to 2019. The crude annual incidence rates of cancer per 100 000 men and women were 489 and 430 respectively in 2020.
  3. For the first time, women surpassed men by 773 in the number of new cancer cases in 2020, with a ratio of 105 women per 100 men.
  4. The five most frequent cancers diagnosed for both genders combined in 2020 were lung cancer (5 422 cases, 15.9%), colorectal cancer (5 087 cases, 14.9%), breast cancer (4 988 cases, 14.6%), prostate cancer (2 315 cases, 6.8%) and liver cancer (1 735 cases, 5.1%). These five leading cancers comprised over half (57.2%) of all new cancer cases (Figure 1).

    Figure 1. Five leading diagnoses of new cancer cases, 2020

    Five leading diagnoses of new cancer cases, 2020
  5. Cancer is primarily a disease of older people. More than a half of cancers occurred in people with the age of 65 or above, whereas only a mere 0.5% of cancers being diagnosed in children and adolescents (i.e. aged 0-19 years).
  6. Cancer is the top killer in Hong Kong. In 2020, cancer claimed 14 805 lives, accounting for about one third of the total deaths in the local population. Among all, lung cancer (3 910 cases, 26.4%), colorectal cancer (2 287 cases, 15.4%) and liver cancer (1 530 cases, 10.3%) topped the list and made up of 52.2% of all cancer deaths (Figure 2). Pancreatic cancer (813 cases, 5.5%) and breast cancer (756 cases, 5.1%) are the fourth and fifth common causes of cancer deaths respectively.

    Figure 2. Five leading causes of registered cancer deaths, 2020

    Five leading causes of registered cancer deaths, 2020
  7. The majority of cancer patients are elderly. More than two-thirds of newly diagnosed cancers in 2020 and 82% of cancer deaths in 2020 related to those aged 60 or above. The median age at diagnosis of cancer in 2020 was 68 years for male and 63 years for female. The median age at death due to cancer was 72 years for male and 73 years for female in 2020.
  8. A person's risk of developing or dying from cancer is age-dependent. Based on the cancer statistics in 2020, about 1 in 4 men and 1 in 5 women will develop cancer before the age of 75.
  9. While the number of new cancer cases has continued to increase largely as a result of a growing and ageing population, the age-standardised cancer incidence rate for men has levelled off, with an increasing trend for women observed in the past ten years or so (Figure 3).
  10. Both the age-standardised mortality rates for men and that for women had a downward trend during the above period (Figure 3).

Figure 3. Age-standardised incidence and mortality rates of all cancers by gender

Age-standardised incidence and mortality rates of all cancers by gender

跳至主要內容

香港癌症統計概覽

  1. 癌症是本港主要的非傳染病之一,其發病率日趨上升。過往10年,癌症發病個案以每年約2.6%的比率增長。於2020年,本港癌症的新增個案為34 179宗,較2019年減少903宗或按年下跌2.6%。平均每日有94人確診癌症。
  2. 在2020年新增的癌症個案中,男性佔16 703宗,而女性佔17 476宗。與2019年相比,男性個案減少982宗(或5.6%),女性個案則增加79宗(或0.5%)。另外,在2020年,按癌症粗發病率計算,每十萬名男性和女性中分別有約489宗和430宗新增癌症個案。
  3. 女性罹患癌症數字於2020年首度超越男性,多出773宗,兩性比例為每100名男性有105名女性。
  4. 於2020年,兩性最常確診患上的五種癌症依次為肺癌(5 422宗,15.9%)、大腸癌(5 087宗,14.9%)、乳癌(4 988宗,14.6%)、前列腺癌(2 315宗,6.8%)及肝癌(1 735宗,5.1%)。五種常見癌症個案數目佔癌症新增個案總數逾半數(57.2%)(圖1)。

    圖1. 2020年五種常見癌症新增個案數字

    2020年五種常見癌症新增個案數字
  5. 癌症主要發生在年長人士身上。超過一半的癌症發病於65歲或以上,而兒童及青少年(即0-19歲)中確診癌症只佔整體的0.5%。
  6. 癌症是本港頭號殺手。在2020年,癌症共奪去14 805人的性命,佔全港整體死亡人數約三分之一。其中,肺癌(3 910 宗,26.4%)、大腸癌(2 287宗,15.4%)及肝癌(1 530宗,10.3%)名列榜首,合共佔癌症死亡總數的52.2%(圖2)。 第四位和第五位致命癌症分別為胰臟癌(813宗,5.5%)和乳癌(756宗,5.1%)。

    圖2. 2020年五種常見癌症死亡數字

    2020年五種常見癌症死亡數字
  7. 癌症患者主要為較年長的人士。於2020年,在新確診及死於癌症的個案中,60歲或以上的人士分別多於三分之二及82%。另外,確診罹患癌症的男性及女性年齡中位數分別為68歲及63歲。至於2020年死於癌症的人士中,男性及女性的年齡中位數分別為72歲及73歲。
  8. 個人患癌或死於癌症的風險與年齡有關。根據2020年的癌症數字,在75歲前患癌症的機會,大約為每四名男性中有一位及每五名女性中有一位。
  9. 不僅人口增長和老齡化導致癌症新增個案的數字持續攀升,男性整體癌症的年齡標準化發病率在過去十年轉趨平穩,而女性整體癌症的年齡標準化發病率在過去十年間亦有上升趨勢(圖3)。
  10. 與此同時,男性和女性整體的癌症年齡標準化死亡率均呈下降的趨勢(圖3)。

圖3. 整體癌症並按性別劃分的年齡標準化發病率及死亡率

整體癌症並按性別劃分的年齡標準化發病率及死亡率